Devo 8 battery

More
04 Jul 2013 18:26 #11900 by spartacus
Devo 8 battery was created by spartacus
I am new to the Devo 8 still waiting for it to be delivered, can i use a 7.4 800 mah 2 cell lipo in this beauty.

Or do you have a better config.
Regards'
Bill.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
04 Jul 2013 21:03 - 04 Jul 2013 21:05 #11908 by RandMental
Replied by RandMental on topic Devo 8 battery
I believe there are people that do, but let me open that old can of worms, my question would be why?

The Devo 8 has linear regulators taking the 7.4 voltage down to 5 and 3.3 volt respectively, the difference is lost as heat. It has an internal charge circuit and connector to charge NiMH batteries, while
you have to take the LiPo out to charge it.

Get your self low discharge NiMH batteries,4 x 2000 or 2500mAh and you will have no issues.
Last edit: 04 Jul 2013 21:05 by RandMental.

More
05 Jul 2013 04:04 #11926 by vlad_vy
Replied by vlad_vy on topic Devo 8 battery
There are rear issies that Devo 8s doesn't shutdown with 2S LiPo battery. It stays in power on state while you take off battery from Tx.

More
05 Jul 2013 07:16 #11931 by PhracturedBlue
Replied by PhracturedBlue on topic Devo 8 battery
You also will put additional strain on the voltage regulation and power circuitry, which in my opinion is under-designed and prone to failure. On the other hand, may people have been successful with that setup. In the end, if it works for you, do what you like, we don't need yet another discussion on the merits of NiMH vs LiPo. Personally I'm happy running NiMH in my Tx.

More
05 Jul 2013 18:13 #11958 by spartacus
Replied by spartacus on topic Devo 8 battery
Hi, thank you all for your reply i have 2700 nimh will these be ok.
Bill.

More
06 Jul 2013 06:04 #12005 by -=Hubi-Dirk=-
Replied by -=Hubi-Dirk=- on topic Devo 8 battery