Devo 12S DSMX Range and Telemetry Questions

More
26 Jun 2014 08:39 #24255 by johnho100
Hi Everyone,

I am having some range issues(?) with my Devo 12S, I would be very grateful if someone could help to answer my questions. My story is a bit long, but I just want to don’t miss any details of my findings, so here’s my story:

I am a helicopter pilot and I have been flying all my helis with a Devo 12S and Walkera Rxs for almost 2 years now and I have had no problems whatsoever. I have installed Deviation 4.01 a few months ago, so I could fly my new Terx 150 with a DSMX satellite. Everything worked perfectly (with both my Trex 150 (DSMX) and Walkera Rxs) and I love the flexibility of Deviation.

Last month, I added a Trex 700E HV version to my fleet and I wanted to use a 2S LiPo to power the servos and electronics, but according to the Specifications, Walkera Rxs can only handle up to 5V. I am worried I would blow up the Walkera Rx if I just power it with a 2S LiPo, so I decided to run 2 DSMX satellites with my Vbar. The binding process with my Devo 12S went smoothly and I went out for a maiden flight. I made sure my transmission power was 150mw and Voilà! The maiden went great and I didn’t notice any issues at all.

When I got home, I checked my Vbar log, to my surprise; I found hundreds of “antenna switched” entries. So I checked on the internet, “antenna switched” is similar to “Fades” in Spektrum term, and it could be caused by placing the satellites at undesirable locations on the heli, shielding the reception of the satellites. I thought “OK, I will move both satellites to open areas and I will be ok!” and so I did. I went out again for another flight, and no improvement was found, there were still hundreds of “antenna switched” in my Vbar log. I understand occasional “antenna switched” is normal, but hundreds of them looks worrying to me. So I decided not to touch my Trex 700 again until I figure out problem.