My Devo 7E 4-in1 + 2x3 Build (and Syma X4 Issues)

More
04 Aug 2016 16:00 #52433 by NathanBarguss
All,

Firstly thank you to the community (specifically victzh, PhracturedBlue and hexfet)! – You guys do amazing work and I can’t believe how useful competent and feature rich a ‘cheap’ tx can be!

I’m pretty new to the RC hobby, and starting to become a little obsessed with flying, and specifically FPV flight, so I’m doing an awful lot of learning, and paying a fair noob-tax along the way. I wanted to document my progress with my 7e, first to remind myself what I’d done, and second to put all the information in one place in case it helps anyone else (I had to do a lot of searching to find the information I used to get a working 7e! – and found some awesome resources along the way).

First Build (skip this if not interested, it’s here for completeness and background to my current troubles – more on that later)

After a little reading around, I found that DeviationTx with a NRF24l01 would be able to fly my cheap XinXun X39 – This later turned out not to be the case as my X39 is a newer revision, and I’ve not got round to trying to figure out the protocol / it was easier to swap the flight controller for a £6 SymaX5 R6 board that is far more responsive and fun! – More on that later.

I picked up the Devo 7e from eBay for ~£38, and picked up a NRF24l01 ~ £6 from bang good from reading the comments on hacksmods.com
This is the exact one I got - banggood.com/DEVO-Transmitter-Tuner-Modified-for-FBL80-FBL100-WLtoys-V922-p-89812.html

I downloaded and installed DeviationTX following the instructions in the getting started section.

Installed the module as per the instructions and pinout on hacksmods.com (linked above) and set up the hardware.ini to use the TMS pin (A13).