Feature request: Signal generators to channels

More
16 Sep 2013 09:19 #13818 by billmester
Hi,

I am sorry, I do not know how to open a ticket, but here is an idea.

I am a noob (<1yr) on choppers, and I seem to be spending more time building them than actually flying them :whistle:

Therefore, I need to do servo testing regularily. For this I am using a $2 separate unit on a bench, detaching wires... you know.

So why not have a programmable function generaton in the mixers? I was especially thinking of 2 waveforms (of logical levels of the emitted signals, to drive servos):
1. triangle wave, with adjustable amplitude, level offset, frequency and phase shift. For cycling servos from piont A to B continuously.
2. square vawe, with adjustable HI level and time and LOW level and time. Mostly to repeatingly operate switches (can be bought/built separately - mainly from dead servos ;-)
3. maybe only emitting a settable amount of cycles (0 is continuous?)

More than one generators could be created (just like any other mixers), for testing CCPM or whatever. They should use a common time-base, so they can run phase synchronized.

Of course, these could be activated by a switch and/or any condition - just like any other items in the Advanced Mixers, and could be directed to channel outputs.

Apart from testing there are other practical uses:
-camera panning automatically (triangle wave)
-camera repeated shooting (Square wave)
-salvo rocket firing (who would do that???)
-LED light blinking/fading without other hardware...
-having scale models on a DEMO stand, with moving parts
-meh, whatever you can think of ;-)

What do you think guys?

thanks,
bm

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
16 Sep 2013 09:40 #13819 by billmester
Replied by billmester on topic Feature request: Signal generators to channels
...might as well set some time bases/offsets/frequencies by inputs from pots/trims? ;-)

OK, I'll stop now... :whistle:

More