I just need a little help getting started - PLEASE

More
20 Nov 2012 14:54 #3027 by Rain4LA
Thanks so much for developing this tool. I just have no idea how to use it. I'm a total newb, so forgive me - but I'm loving these helicopters. Could you please tell me where to drop these preset .ini files to have them set up for different models? I need to know the procedure, because manually inputting these settings is wayyyy too confusimg right now. I'm looking for beginner settings on several CP models.

Thank you so much in advance for any help!

Todd

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
20 Nov 2012 15:03 #3028 by FDR
You should rename the downloaded model.ini file according to the model slot you want it to be in. For example if you want it to be the third model, then it should be named "model3.ini".
Then copy it to the "models" directory, overwriting the existing one.

That's it...

More
20 Nov 2012 15:06 #3029 by Rain4LA
But I thought I wasn't supposed to copy over the models directory. What you're saying makes total sense now. Should I just copy over the blank models directory from Deviation, since I don't have one at all?

More
20 Nov 2012 15:23 #3030 by Hexperience
Replied by Hexperience on topic I just need a little help getting started - PLEASE
Think of the files as slots. Once you have a config in the model (settings in the file) you don't want to copy over those settings.
When you first start up you need to have "blank" slots. Those are the files. You can tell by the size. A blank slot is 1k while a slot (file) with config in it will be at least 4k in size.

So if you want to download an ini file, put it in a slot that you know is empty. (as FDR said rename it.)

AFTER you have config files, you don't want to copy over those files, with the blanks that come in the devo-FS (for file system) zip file. If you do, you will be replacing a 4k file with config in it with one that is 1k is "blank".