A silly question about channels.

More
21 May 2013 15:56 #10198 by undeliverable
A silly question about channels. was created by undeliverable
I'm pretty new to the RC scene but I love to tinker and mod just about everything in site. I was looking at the DEVO line of transmitters and was initially looking at the 7e and the 10. I was leaning twords the 10 because of raw channel count, but after finding the Deviation firmware I am seeing that it the Devo8s supports 12 channels under DeviationX? Is the same true of other Devo transmitters supported by DeviationX?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
21 May 2013 16:52 - 21 May 2013 16:53 #10207 by sbstnp
Replied by sbstnp on topic A silly question about channels.
Usually the number of channels is counted by the number of physical methods of manipulating those channels, meaning: sticks, switches, knobs.

Deviation supports more than the advertised number of channels because it allows the user to map more switches to channels, unlike the stock firmware.

If 8S supports 12 channels, then Devo 10 supports 14 channels.

Anyway, the number of channels on a transmitter doesn't make it better, it all depends on the user's needs.

For example, CP helicopters need a minimum of 6 channels. Most aircraft need 4 channels. Extra channels can be used for retracts, lights, etc.

Devo 10 + 4in1
Spektrum Dx9
FrSky Taranis + TBS Crossfire
Last edit: 21 May 2013 16:53 by sbstnp.

More
21 May 2013 17:05 #10208 by undeliverable
Replied by undeliverable on topic A silly question about channels.
I see. That helps a great deal. I would like to get something that offers growth potential and both look like great transmitters. I will be outside in the sunlight for most of the time so I may grab the 10 just for readability. I cant imagine managing 12 or 14 things all at once in any event. At the moment Im having trouble getting off the ground. Thanks for the help.

More
21 May 2013 23:40 #10217 by RoGuE_StreaK