Creating a complex throttle mix, with two safeties

More
07 Jul 2013 11:25 #12031 by myxiplx
Hi folks,

I'm trying to figure out how to do this, with complex mixers and virtual channels I'm sure there's a way to do it, I'm just not sure how.

I want to configure throttle hold for my nitro heli, but I'm after three separate flight modes:

Normal: Full -100 to +100 range, TH goes to -100 and cuts the engine.
Mode1: Normal flight, but ensures I can't drop below a safe idle figure.
Range approx -60 to +100, with TH going to -60 (idle)
Mode2: Idle up. Throttle at 80 or above. TH goes to -60 (idle).

Questions:
1. Can I achieve the above with a complex mixer?
2. Could I 'tune' the idle figure with a trim button or similar?
3. Is this plan completely bonkers?

I'm still learning nitro engines, so I may be misunderstanding, but my feeling is that the idle figure will vary with ambient conditions. I know this can be adjusted by tuning the engine, but I'd like to be able to quickly work out a throttle position for a good idle, and set this as both my minimum stick position, and the TH position for modes 1 and 2, with one setting controlling all of these.

I have a Devo-10 so I could use the AUX4 or AUX5 knobs, but these are a bit too easy to knock by accident. I'd prefer a fixed value that I had a quick and easy way to adjust after I've started the engine. The ideal would be to use a trim button for this, but I don't know if we can use them as standard inputs. Can I set a virtual channel with a trim?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
07 Jul 2013 13:49 #12034 by FDR
Of course you can do it.

Configure one trim to have a virtual channel as the source and increase it's step. Now you can use that virtual channel to be the idle. You probably have to scale it down and offset it a bit to meet the required range.