Model questions from a 'newby'

More
01 Feb 2015 21:42 #28333 by tedbyers
Model questions from a 'newby' was created by tedbyers
I received my Devo 10 Tx just a couple weeks ago, and installed Deviation 4 just now.

I then went searching for model definitions for the aircraft I fly, to start learning about effective use of these things. I found one guy in particular, Tom Z, has created a large number of model files covering just about every aircraft I will be flying with this. Thanks Tom!

However, I am not content with just using another's work. I want to understand everything I see in these model files. As an ancient software engineer, I found it easy to explore the interface provided by Deviation, and can see what is available to be changed and how to change it. What I have not yet found is a guide as to what values to use, or explanation as to why one would choose one value over another possibly acceptable value. And there are some terms that I need explained. For example, until I received my Blade 120 SR, I had no idea what a swash plate is (I do now, though, as a guy in the rcgroups 120SR forum explained it for me). On several of my Tx, I see a gear switch, but it looks nothing like a gear. I have no idea what it is normally used for. There is a mix switch, 3 positions, but what is mixed? I also see an fmod switch (three position), which I would assume is to allow one to select among Angle, horizon and acro mode on aircraft that use the MultiWii FC (and related products), or the low angle stability, high angle stability and agility modes on most Blade quadcopters. Is that right? And, I see two position switches for rudder, aileron and elevator, each with the string 'D/R' following the name, but I do not know what the 'D/R' signifies or why these switches would be needed.