Devo 7e powered from 2s pack 18650

More
28 Sep 2015 14:57 #38162 by Fernandez
Devo 7e powered from 2s pack 18650 was created by Fernandez
Does anybody know if devo 7e can handle a 2s pack, instead of the 4x 1.5v = 6v AA cells?

I do not like to put a regulator between as then will loose the tx battery voltage measurement, also the reglator takes standby current.
Somebody has a schematic of the 7e?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
29 Sep 2015 06:38 #38200 by Epyon
Replied by Epyon on topic Devo 7e powered from 2s pack 18650
Hell, I've been running one off a 3s for nearly a 2 years. I did put a small heatsink on the voltage regulator. She ain't died yet B)

More
29 Sep 2015 08:34 #38206 by Fernandez
Replied by Fernandez on topic Devo 7e powered from 2s pack 18650
perfect, to be 100% clear, you power the devo 7e with 3s, = 13.6Volt and it does not die?

I did allready replace the small 3v3 regulator, by a bigger one, as the default small reg got very hot at 150mW output, devo 7 was designed for 10mw only.

Can you confirm, send a screenshot, that you can monitor the full lipo pack voltage still correctly on the Tx, so I can set Volt alarm for the Tx pack at 6v6 for the 2s?

More
29 Sep 2015 10:37 #38211 by Richard96816
Replied by Richard96816 on topic Devo 7e powered from 2s pack 18650
As a counterpoint, a good set of NIMH batteries work well with the built-in charger and a ten dollar 9-volt 'wall wart' power supply. Never need to worry about radio batteries again. And a charge lasts a really long time. Eneloop NIMH batteries hold a charge for months and months and are much less susceptible to weather and neglect than other chemistries.

I considered lithiums for the Devo too. But the built-in charger is designed for NIMH cells, and everything about it seems solid and really low maintenance. Bullet proof.

More
29 Sep 2015 11:21 #38213 by Epyon
Replied by Epyon on topic Devo 7e powered from 2s pack 18650