8801 "LuLa" Nano quadcopter Devo support requested

More
16 Aug 2015 18:24 #36952 by IndoorFlyer
Hi, first must tell you I am new to the "Deviation scene". I have a Devo 7E ready to be modded, with extra RF board and antenna, so pretty much a newbie at this. I want to thank the people who contributed to this project, as it's clear that their efforts are helping others enjoy their RC stuff more, because they can fly it with a better transmitter, or don't have to bring a dozen of transmitters to the field, to fly every single craft.

As the title mentions, I do also have a request. There is this agile and nice to fly nano quad, called the 8801 "LuLa". Though it comes with a reasonable size transmitter for a cheap RTF quad, the range is a bit limited, and when zipping around, it's easy to fly it out of range. A more capable transmitter would not only make it fly better, but would likely also extend range. So current and future owners of this quad would really appreciate if it could be added to the growing family of "deviated" protocols.

Thanks in advance and happy flying!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
17 Aug 2015 14:28 #36978 by hexfet
Adding a new protocol requires reverse engineering the data sent to the quad. The 8801 would need to use a supported radio chip, and we need access to the data sent to the chip. This normally comes from captures of the SPI bus data on the radio chip provided by someone with both the quad and a logic analyzer.

You might try binding with some of the current microquad protocols on the chance it uses one of them.

More
17 Aug 2015 15:00 #36981 by IndoorFlyer
Replied by IndoorFlyer on topic 8801 "LuLa" Nano quadcopter Devo support requested
I understand there is more involved than snapping some fingers, and there are a few transmitters I could try.

Maybe it would help that this thread has pictures of the reciever board, to identify the radio chip that is used?