New protocol for iNav flight control software

More
05 Sep 2016 18:22 #53520 by mjbudden
I've just made a deviation PR - github.com/DeviationTX/deviation/pull/37

This adds a new protocol I've been developing for use with the iNav flight control software github.com/iNavFlight/inav . The plan is also to include this in the betaflight 3.1 release (that is the one after the forthcoming 3.0 release).

The aim to have a robust NRF24L01 protocol so that NRF24L01 receivers can be used by mainstream flight control software. The protocol is described in the nrf24_inav.c file (see end of post).

The aim is to add telemetry by returning telemetry data in the ACK packet, but this is not implemented yet.

This is my first attempt at writing a NRF24 protocol so comments are most welcome.

/*
 * iNav Protocol
 * Data rate is 250Kbps - lower data rate for better reliability and range
 * Uses auto acknowledgment and dynamic payload size
 *     ACK payload is used for handshaking in bind phase and telemetry in data phase
 * Bind payload size is 16 bytes
 * Data payload size is 8, 16 or 18 bytes dependent on variant of protocol, (small payload is read more quickly (marginal benefit))
 * Bind Phase
 * uses address {0x4b,0x5c,0x6d,0x7e,0x8f}
 * uses channel 0x4c (76)
 * Data Phase
 * 1) Uses the address received in bind packet
 * 2) Hops between RF channels generated from the address received in bind packet.
 *    The number of RF hopping channels is set during bind handshaking:
 *        the transmitter requests a number of hopping channels in payload[7]
 *        the receiver sets ackPayload[7] with the number of hopping channels actually allocated - the transmitter must
 *        use this value.
 *    All receiver variants must support the 16 byte payload. Support for the 8 and 18 byte payload is optional.
 * 3) Uses the payload size negotiated in the bind phase, payload size may be 8, 16 or 18 bytes